Qui som?

What is DIMMID?

Sister Lucy Brydon OSB, coordinator of the Sub-commission for Great Britain / Ireland, with monks from Cittaviveka Chithurst Buddhist Monastery, West Sussex

Dialogue Interreligieux Monastique / Monastic Interreligious Dialogue (DIMMID) is an international monastic organization that promotes and supports dialogue, especially dialogue at the level of religious experience and practice, between Christian monastic men and women and followers of

other religions.

DIMMID is a commission of the Benedictine Confederation with formal links to both branches of the Cistercian order. It acts in liaison with the Holy See’s Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue and welcomes collaboration with other organizations that foster interreligious dialogue. DIMMID is civilly incorporated in the state of Minnesota (USA) as a nonprofit, tax-exempt institution operating exclusively for charitable, educational, and religious purposes.

While the natural dialogue partners of Christian monastics are monastics of other religious traditions, DIMMID also engages in spiritual dialogue with adherents of religions that do not have an institutionalized form of monasticism, for example—and in particular—with Muslims.

The activities of DIMMID are coordinated by a General Secretariat, whose members are the coordinators of the four existing continental commissions, the Secretary General, the President of the Alliance for International Monasticism (A.I.M.), and directors elected at large:
Coordinator for Europe
      Frère Daniel Pont OSB, En Calcat, France
Coordinator for North America
     Brother Gregory Perron OSB, Lisle IL, USA
Coordinator for India/Sri Lanka
     Father George Nelliyanil OSBCam, Shantivanam, India
Coordinator for Australia
     Father Bernard McGrath, OSBSylv, Arcadia, New South Wales
Secretary General
     Father William Skudlarek OSB, Collegeville MN, USA
President of A.I.M.
     Father Martin Neyt OSB, Clerlande, Belgium

Brother Gregory Perron OSB, President of the North American Commission, at a meeting of 'Monks in the West.'
At present there are three "at large" directors:
     Sister Anne McCarthy OSB, Erie PA, USA 
     Søster GilChrist Lavigne OCSO, Tautra, Norway
     Père Pierre de Béthune OSB, Clerlande, Belgium

The European Commission presently comprises ten regional sub-commissions, each with a coordinator:

Great Britain /Ireland   
     Sister Lucy Brydon OSB, Turvey, England   
     Soeur Marie Pinlou OSB, Urt
French-speaking Belgium  
     Soeur Gaëtane Seulen OSB, Liège
French-speaking Switzerland 
     Soeur Marie- Gabrielle Dufrêne OSC, Jongny
     Pater Cosmas Hoffman OSB, Meschede, Germany
Holland and Flemish-speaking Belgium  
     Soeur Bénédicte Vanhoomissen OSB, Loppem, Belgium
     Bakos Gergely atya OSB (Father Gregory Bakos OSB), Pannonhalma
Iberian Peninsula   
     Ramon Oranias OSB, Montserrat, Spain
     Fratello Matteo Nicolini-Zani, Bose
     Søster GilChrist Lavigne OCSO, Tautra, Norway
Some commissions and sub-commissions include members of non-monastic orders and congregations, diocesan clergy, lay people (especially oblates), and clergy and laity from other Christian churches.

Some commissions and subcommissions also have their own website where one can find more information about the mission of DIMMID as well as information about local activities.

Més informació

Comissió Ibèrica

  • José Luís Navarro (Responsable)
  • Griselda Cos Boada (Gestió i Butlletins)
  • Ramon Oranias Orga
  • Rosa M. de la Parra Sanagustín
  • Lino Coreia Marqués de Miranda Moreira
  • Maria Reis Catarino
  • M. María Blanca Blanco
Més informació